St Johns School & Master House

In 1838 Archdeacon Mant confirmed the key criteria for the site selection namely: ‘combining the advantages of a dry, elevated and conspicuous situation, and convenience of access to the parish of Hillsborough’.
The ‘Irish Builder’ and motiffs above both the boys and girls entrance porches record the school as having been donated by Marquis Downshire by 1853. A valuation entry sheet, dated 1861, confirms the current layout was established and St Johns School remained a vibrant rural school until its closure in 2003 having faithfully served the local community for 150 years.

The school is still held in high esteem, now B2 listed, ensuring its retention and conservation for future generations. Its elevated contour and proximity to Hillsborough are enduring qualities that have stood the test of time in regards to good site selection. Ballymullan Architect (BMA) Ltd were pleased to have secured listed building consent, planning approval and building control for its restoration and change of use to a private residence with works commencing on site in the spring of 2020.

Project Details
Type
Conservation
Location
Hillsborough
Status
Working Progress

Member of the Architects Registration Board

Royal Institute of British Architects

Constructionline

Certified Passive House Designer

Tel: 028 92 604609 / 07740501684

50 Ballymullan Road, Lisburn, Co.Down, BT27 5PJ